History of the Foundation

The Educational Advancement Foundation (EAF) was founded in 1969 by Harry Lucas, Jr. Today, the Foundation is headquartered in Austin, Texas, and is governed by six trustees:

  • Harry Lucas, Jr., Chairman
  • William (Bill) Hamilton
  • Albert C. Lewis, Secretary
  • Don Wukasch
  • Brian Raines
  • Pat Pound

Another Officer of the Foundation is:

  • Fain Brock, Treasurer

Trustees Emeriti:

  • Earl Lairson (Deceased)
  • Alfred Leiser (Deceased)

The teaching methods of his mathematics professor, R. L. Moore, greatly influenced the chairman of the Foundation. As such, the Foundation’s primary focus is improving education in the sciences.

The Foundation promotes Inquiry-Based Learning, or discovery learning, in mathematics and the sciences. The Foundation made its first mentoring grants to promote discovery learning in 1997. The grants have continued to evolve as the Foundation seeks better ways to improve education in mathematics and the sciences.

EAF has been a supporter of the public foundation, The Initiative for Mathematics Learning by Inquiry (MLI), since MLI's creation in 2017.

Lists of recent grants awarded: 2009, 2010, 2011, 2012, 2013.

The achivements of twenty years of the Foundation's endeavors are summarized here.